Luminara Unduli (Commander)


Venator-class Star Destroyer (SWM41)

Card text

While a friendly ship or unique squadron is defending, after the Spend Defense Tokens step, if it spent fewer than 2 defense tokens, it may either ready 1 of its defense tokens it did not spend, or choose another friendly ship at distance 1-5 and ready 1 of that ship’s defense tokens.


Type Commander
Faction Republic
Unique Yes
Points 25


The effect of this Upgrade Card triggers after Attack Step 4: Spend Defense Tokens.

Official rulings

Spending a defense token using “Axe”‘s ability to reduce damage on a friendly squadron does not resolve Luminara Unduli (Commander)’s effect as “Axe” is not the defending squadron.


Aug 29, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

If a ship spends a defense token to resolve Thermal Shields, that spent defense token is counted when determining if Luminara Unduli’s effect can be resolved.


Aug 11, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Luminara Unduli would resolve with any defending friendly ship or unique squadron owned by that player, even if the defending ship or unique squadron has no defense tokens.


Aug 10, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

A defense token which was “readied” and spent to be “exhausted” by an attacker (for example, using Admiral Sloane‘s ability), can be chosen by the defender with Luminara Unduli’s effect to “ready” and return it to its “readied” side.


Jul 7, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Luminara Unduli’s card effect is able to be resolved if 0 defense tokens are spent by a defending ship or unique squadron.


Jul 6, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Question: Can card effects such as Admiral Konstantine, Luminara Unduli (Commander), General Grievous (Commander), Kraken, etc be used in conjunction with Unarmed Stations?

Answer: Yes, Unarmed Stations “are treated as ships when resolving effects.” with no size class and considered friendly to the player that controls their station card.


Jun 29, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Community rulings

No community rulings