Moff Jerjerrod


Upgrade Card Collection (SWM38)

Imperial Light Cruiser (SWM22)

Card text

While a friendly ship executes a maneuver, during the Determine Course step, that ship may suffer 1 damage to change the first yaw value of that maneuver to “II”.


Type Commander
Faction Imperial
Unique Yes
Points 23


This Upgrade Card may resolve during a Ships Determine Course step.

Official rulings

G-8 Experimental Projector wouldn’t prevent Moff Jerjerrod’s effect from resolving, and a ship’s yaw clicks would be increased even at the temporary speed.


Jul 6, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

In regard to Moff Jerjerrod’s effect, “Current Speed” refers to the numeric value that is currently displayed on the ships speed dial, and not in regards to the speed of any maneuver granted by another effect, such as Engine Techs.

If the ship’s “current speed” is speed 1, then Moff Jerjerrod’s effect would last until the end of that ship’s activation.


Jul 7, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Moff Jerjerrod has no effect on huge sized ships.

Apr 2, 2020 | Source: FFG Live Super Star Destroyer Gameplay

Community rulings

When a ship is determining its course with the maneuver tool, it may, before the maneuver tool is locked in, suffer 1 damage to any selected hull zone. This now changes the first yaw value of the ships current speed on its speed dial to “II” until the end of its activation

Jul 7, 2020 | Source: KARM

When a ship suffers damage from Moff Jerjerrod ability, that damage must be taken to a selected hull zone. That hull zone would suffer that damage to any shields in that zone, if no shields are present, then that damage would be taken to the ship’s hull as a facedown damage card. You cannot bypass shields to take a facedown damage card.

Jul 7, 2020 | Source: KARM

Moff Jerjerrod can be used to add a yaw back to a yaw joint after Thrust Control Malfunction reduction if a ships speed dial is set to 1.

Jul 7, 2020 | Source: KARM

In Rift Ambush if you are first player the Rift Ambush special rule overrides Jerjerrod’s ability because of the wording “it must execute a speed-1 maneuver with a yaw of ‘-‘.”

In this case of Golden rule vs Golden Rule, “Must” takes precedence.

Jul 7, 2020 | Source: KARM

Can the card effect of Moff Jerjerrod be used multiple times at multiple speeds? Or just only ever needs to be resolved once regardless of speed change?

If only resolved once, does this card effect only resolve once per maneuver or carrys forward into additional maneuvers.

Karneck: I’ll let Brooks explain this one.
Brooks: Firstly, regarding the order of operations for using Jerjerrod while also changing speed: ​Moff Jerjerrod’s effect is resolved only once during the process of executing a maneuver, and applies to the yaw value of whatever speed that maneuver is finally executed at, regardless of the order in which effects are triggered.

Secondly, regarding whether Jerjerrod could be used multiple times in a single ship’s activation to affect separate maneuvers, I don’t see any rules reason why he couldn’t: Moff Jerjerrod can be resolved during each maneuver a ship performs during its activation.

“Finally, regarding whether once Jerjerrod resolves, his effect persists for subsequent additional maneuvers performed during the same activation, there is serious ambiguity. A literal reading suggests it does, but applying that interpretation would contradict the established behavior for numerous other effects that modify a ship’s speed and/or yaw during maneuvers. As a judge, I would be inclined to require Jerjerrod be triggered during each maneuver his effect is applied to, so as to preserve other established interactions.

Jul 7, 2020 | Source: KARM