Invisible Hand


Invisible Hand (SWM42)

Card text

While deploying fleets, if you are in the play area, when you would deploy a squadron with swarm, you may set that squadron aside next to your ship card instead. You may set aside up to 5 squadrons this way.

[Squadron]: For each squadron you would activate with this command, you may place 1 of your set-aside squadrons within distance 3. It cannot move this activation, and if it has AI, increase its AI value by 1.


Type Title
Faction Separatist
Unique Yes
Points 9


The effect of this Upgrade Card triggers after Reveal Command Dial step, when executing a squadron command.

Official rulings

If a squadron’s AI value is increased, the dice added to the attack pool may all be the same color or each a different color. They must be added and rolled at the same time.


Aug 21, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Question: If a Providence class ship is equipped with both Invisible Hand and Rapid Launch Bays, how many “set aside” squadrons can I place when I resolve a squadron command? Is the ship’s squadron value resolved in full for each card?

Answer: The ship’s squadron value is resolved once across both effects. For example, If a ship’s squadron value is “4”, you could place 4 squadrons with Invisible Hand, or 4 squadrons with Rapid Launch Bays, or a total of 4 squadrons across those two effects.


Jun 22, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Question: If I place squadrons aside with another effect such as Rapid Launch Bays, can I deploy those squadrons and gain the “AI” increase from Invisible Hands effect?

Answer: No. Each effect resolves separately per the section “Set Aside Ships and Squadrons”: “A ship or squadron that is set aside can only be deployed or affected by the effect that set them aside.”


Jun 22, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Question: Does Invisible Hand permanently increase the “AI” value of a squadron that is deployed by its effect?

Answer: No. The bonus is lost when the ship finishes its activation.


Jun 22, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Community rulings

No community rulings