General Tagge


Upgrade Card Collection (SWM38)

Imperial Assault Carriers (SWM18)

Card text

After deploying fleets, place 2 non-consecutive round tokens on this card. At the start of the Ship Phase during each round matching 1 of those tokens, each friendly ship may recover 1 of its discarded defense tokens.


Type Commander
Faction Imperial
Unique Yes
Points 25


This Upgrade Card triggers at the start of the “Ship Phase.”

Official rulings

General Tagge’s ability will not resolve if the card is discarded, as it is no longer in play when the appropriate timing window is reached to resolve its effect.


Aug 4, 2021 | Source: AMG Rules Forum

Community rulings

Each ship at the start of the rounds matching the tokens on this card, before the command phase, can choose to recover one discarded defense token. Note that this card ability does not “ready” any exhausted defense tokens.

Jul 7, 2020 | Source: KARM

In regards to Captain Needa and Local Fire Control, those cards “replaces” a chosen defense token, General Tagge cannot choose to recover any defense token replaced by those card effects.

Jul 7, 2020 | Source: KARM

In regards to Devastator, per the FAQ: “If this ship replaces one of its defense tokens (for example, using Captain Needa’s ability), its replaced defense token does not count as discarded. If this ship recovers a discarded defense token, that token no longer counts as discarded.”

Jul 7, 2020 | Source: KARM